Politics, Technology, and Language

If thought corrupts language, language can also corrupt thought — George Orwell

The Web on 5 blogs a day

Posted by metaphorical on 23 March 2007

I got at least thirteen hits the other day referred from the Free Range Librarian. They came because I was one of her “Five Nonbiblioblogs.”

Apparently the idea is sweeping the library blogger universe, to list 5 blogs that are “absolutely not library-related.”

That doesn’t work so well for us non-librarians (or it works trivially, which comes to the same thing), but for the portion of the readership here that I can identify, I think I can come up with a list of blogs of which no one will know more than two (unless people have actually been following the Blogroll links). And I’m totally skipping the literary blogverse that I read; that’s for another day.

Autobiography of Blue

This 20-something woman in southern California says the purpose of her blog “is to coax my desire to write out of hibernation, to discuss and revel in the strange and lovely, and, especially, to explore and share my ongoing experience with fibromyalgia (FM).”

Which is exactly what I love about her blog. Instead of writing about fibromyalgia, she writes about having fibromyalgia, which is much more interesting and, ultimately, much more informative.

She also tends to “write” in images more than words, which, in the right hands, is an amazing way to communicate. See for example “reaching out, a pen-pal, and cleaning.”

Mambo Palace

This blog has been temporarily given over to exercise routines and extracts from the Old Testament, but I expect the Mamboman to hit his stride again once Lent is over and his extra twenty pounds and Jesus ascend, together, heavenward. Then, hopefully, he’ll return to his post-Midwest perspective on life, politics, and football, and give us more headlines like “I will totally tongue kiss Joe Biden if he stays in the race,” “All we are saying is give surrender a chance,” and “I am the Zogby Poll Terrorist.”

Blue Athena

For one thing, Blue Athena’s blog, which is subtitled, “A skeptic’s last stand…” is a magnet for me because her sensibility is so close to my own. (From her About page: “My background in analytic philosophy ensured that I would never commit the sin of logical fallacy… And yet I’ve taken years to recognize my own false god of reason. So now it’s time to learn what lies beyond reason and deconstruction. Beyond the deepest skepticisms. Outside my own absurd sense of superiority in holding fewer fundemental premises than anyone alive.”)

Mostly though, I love the way she just finds good shit, like an online tone deafness test, and a collection of pictures of Michael Jackson that makes him seem a little less loony than I had understood him to be.

I also like that when she decided to play around with her blog’s template, which is ridiculously easy to do on WordPress (I know from experience), she created a button for it on the same row as “About,” to collect feedback on it. Now that’s just a scary amount of common sense.

Telecommuniculturey

I have more than a dozen friends from my non-Blog on-line life who have blogs of their own, and I devour the news and ideas from each of them. But I’m allowing myself to choose only one from the group, and for wit, literary style, and depth of psychosis, in this first group of five, I’m going with Matilda T. Zombie Queen’s Telecommuniculturey.

This self-described 34-year-old “Purveyor of Gently Used Anthropology” in Chicago writes about culture high and pop, her friends, and daily life, with plenty of biology and social science thrown in. Picking among her posts is like picking from the friends list in the first place, but of her recent ones I particularly liked “Happy Birthday, Annie: Darwin, His Daughter, and Evolution,” though for title alone, I should probably mention “Biscuits from on High: The Fried Chicken Throwdown at West Town Tavern.”

The Lunar Gemini

Michael Baker says he “grew up in remote Brazoria County, Texas, but am now hiding among the masses in New York.” I mostly just like his blog just for the writing, but he’s doing something very important that I wish a lot of people, myself included, did more of—he writes about live performance, and he doesn’t care where he sees it. Off-Broadway, cabaret, and even Broadway itself are all too ephermeral. That’s part of it’s charm, but these reviews are like old photographs that capture a moment and make you think what it must have been like.

Even though the reviews dominate, my two favorite moments were the two-part, “Gay dating in the styx” and “Gay dating in the styx (part 2), or why I rarely watch American Idol.”

4 Responses to “The Web on 5 blogs a day”

  1. a collection of pictures of Michael Jackson that makes him seem a little less loony than I had understood him to be

    Well, it’s two pictures of Michael Jackson speculatively “aged” by a police sketch artist to show how he would have looked in his later years if he hadn’t gone crazy. But he did. Why do these pictures make you think otherwise?

    They’re not particularly attractive images, but at least they’re recognizably human (and Black). Are you saying he’s been having all that surgery to avoid getting gray and chunky-looking? That really doesn’t explain things. Lots of people have plastic surgery to look more youthful. Few wind up like this.

  2. Blue Athena said

    Kevin, I think maybe he specifically meant the link Observant Bystander added in the comments:

    http://web.singnet.com.sg/~kda07/surgery.html

    Just guessing…but that one does give a little balance to the rumors.

    Metaphorical,

    Funny to see the notes from my About…I try not to change that to make sure I remember the point of the whole thing. Posts do seem to be getting shorter and more mindless…so I must be getting somewhere.

    Lunar Gemini’s “Gay dating in the styx” is one of the funniest things I’ve read! Sadly, I have a friend who was lured into immigrating from Frankfurt to some similar sounding Texan wasteland a few years ago, and that story sounded oh-so-familiar…

  3. Thanks Athena. I meant both; when I look at the aging photos I think, well, he looks messed up now, but he still looks better than he otherwise would have.

  4. Mike said

    Wow! Thanks for the plug and the kind words. And nice place you’ve got here!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

